North Dakota Oilseed Council

The Council promotes the production, development, marketing and advertising of sunflower, safflower, rapeseed or canola, crambe, and flax within North Dakota. Three members are appointed by the governor: one safflower representative, one crambe representative and one flax representative. One member is appointed by the director of agricultural experiment station. The agriculture commissioner serves as an ex-officio member. The chairman is elected by the Council. There are also 3 elected canola members. Elected members must live in the district they represent and be a sunflower grower. No member shall serve more than four consecutive three year terms.